One Second Counts

Does one second matter? ABSOLUTELY!! One second is all it takes for change to take place. One second can cause a shift from sad to happy, from making mistakes to learning and growing, from failure to greatness, from survival mode to beast mode, from doubtful to confident, from weak to strong.

I have had a few bike sessions in the last 6 weeks that REALLY challenged me and pushed me WAY out of my comfort zone. I saw watts on the bike I’d never seen before and even held 412 watts for 15 seconds during one ride 2 weeks ago. To most people, 15 seconds isn’t a long time, but when you’re working REALLY hard, every second counts and 15 seconds can seem like an eternity! Those seconds turn weakness into strength and helped me become #trackcatstrong!

Today, I reaped the rewards of my hard work over the last 6 weeks. I broke through the ceiling and increased my power threshold on the bike and not just by a little bit. I improved my FTP from 6 weeks ago by 16 watts! Yep…16 watts! I’ve been working SO hard to break through the 200 watt barrier and today was my day! My new threshold is 204 watts! Cheers to hard work paying off! I guess this means I have to work that much harder in the future 😉

So giddy! 16 watt improvement in my FTP test today means I’m over the 200 watt threshold! I never imagined I would see this day! So grateful for Coach Kelly to push me WAY out of my comfort zone and help me get stronger mentally and physically this season!

Every second counts, so make that one second count for you!

How will you let that one second count for you? 

12 thoughts on “One Second Counts

  1. 16 watts is HUGE! I love hearing about your bike progress…it keeps me inspired to keep trying to improve on mine 😀

    1. Thanks Amy! You’ll definitely get there! I’ve had the 200 watt goal since getting my power meter over 3 years ago. Make every second count! 😉

  2. Way to go Kecia!!!!!! I understand your excitement 100%! I established a new FTP a few weeks ago at 200 on the dot! Worked so hard for that number!

Leave a Reply

