“Baby It’s Cold Outside”

Unfortunately we’ve had some VERY COLD days here in central Iowa lately, but I have decided to make the most of it.  With windchill temperatures as low as -24 degrees Fahrenheit last week, going outside just to go to the gym or hot yoga was sometimes a challenge.

Last week was Week #1 of IRONMAN Wisconsin training, so I decided not to let the cold weather stop me from being active and completing my workouts.  I just bundled up and went out anyway and then this morning happened…No school due to the EXTREMELY COLD weather (that was actually announced yesterday at about 2 pm).  Windchill temperatures as low as -41 degrees Fahrenheit this morning…WHAT?!?!?!?!?  I thought I was living in central Iowa, not Antarctica!!

Well, I am not going to let the cold stop me.  I am getting ready to head out the door and go to the gym to complete my swim and strength training session despite the cold temperatures.  It is funny…on days when it is very cold outside, we long for warm summer weather, but when we have temperatures with heat indexes exceeding 100 degrees Fahrenheit in the summer months, we often long for the cold days of winter.  Are we ever truly happy with the weather???

Week #1 (Base Training) Totals:

  • Swim: 4300 yards
  • Bike: 38.3 miles
  • Run: 16.5 miles
  • Strength Training: 1 hour & 45 minutes
  • Hot Yoga: 2 hours & 45 minutes

Feels good to be in the “green” for week #1 of IMWI training!!

14 thoughts on ““Baby It’s Cold Outside”

  1. We’re right on the threshold of the ability to run outside- can I still wear enough clothes to stay warm yet be able to move comfortably. Perhaps I’ll test it later 🙂 Enjoy the gym workout!

    1. You truly are crazy!! You enjoy your run outdoors. If you need me to pick you up along the way because you have frostbite on your fingers, toes or other areas, please call me!!

    1. Thanks Amy!! It was a good swim and strength training session. I was surprised at how busy the gym was between the hours of 9 and 11 am. Crazy!!

    1. The hardest part about week 1 is getting back in the groove of things Abby. I don’t think people are really happy with the weather here either 🙂

  2. Looks good! I spent today looking for aquabikes, since I’m not sure how long this plantar fasciitis will go. I see that iowa has quite a few–my neighbor!

    1. Thanks Sandra!! Aquabikes would be a great alternative and give you a good goal to focus on. If you decided on one (or two), let me know which ones. It might fit into our schedule and we might be able to meet up in person 🙂

  3. Great first week of training! Ha… I know that being in the green feeling well 🙂 stay warm! I’ve been going outside as little as possible – and am pretty pumped about weekend temps in the 30s!

    1. Thanks Erin!! It has been a cold week, but not as cold here as up north where you are. I too am looking forward to weekend temps in the 30s. It will be a heat wave and I might just have to go outside for a bike ride or run 😉

Leave a Reply

