It’s All a Matter of Perspective

When I think about being injured and currently not in my normal training regimen, I realize I have to keep it all in perspective and be thankful for what I can do.  I don’t think twice about having 16 hours of exercise in a week, but to some, that is ridiculous.

embrace a new perspective

Sure, I’m annoyed that I can’t run, but I can still go out and cycle 50-100 miles.  I know…ridiculous.  I can go swim 2 continuous miles with my face in the water.  I know…ridiculous.  I can go snow shoeing for a few hours (if there were snow on the ground right now) with the Iron Hippie and our dogs.  I know…ridiculous.  I can go kayaking all day.  I know…ridiculous.  I can go to a 90 minute hot yoga class and sweat buckets.  I know…ridiculous.

The Iron Hippie and I had a good conversation last night as we did a 1 hour “urban tour” bike ride.  Most people would consider riding their bicycle for an hour to be a “workout.”  In our household, however, we consider the “urban tour” to be socialization and pure enjoyment.  There is no part of it that we consider a “workout.”  We are not breaking a sweat.  We are not even riding hard enough for our heart rates to escalate.

The funny ironic part is that when you truly enjoy something, it doesn’t seem so ridiculous!!  I always say, “When you hang out with the crazies, you don’t seem so crazy.”  All of these “crazy” feats and hours of training have become the norm in our household.

What do you consider “normal” exercise routines/workouts?  Do you ever have to be reminded to keep your workout routine in perspective?

18 thoughts on “It’s All a Matter of Perspective

  1. Returning from training camp where everyone was a “crazy” and some on a professional level and now being back with everyone else keeps me grateful and reminds me that there is a whole other level of crazy that I still haven’t reached 🙂

    1. I love when my “crazy” isn’t nearly as crazy as I thought when I can compare myself to others who far exceed “crazy.” 😉

  2. *This is great perspective! I am so glad that you can do everything else. It will just be a matter of time until you can run again!! 🙂
    *It was a nice night about a week ago and we “rode” downtown for fro-yo. It was fun. It wasn’t a race, timed…we weren’t in bike shorts. It was simply an “urban” ride.
    *Funny you bring up this topic because my friend (who I trained with for my first IM) texted me and said I was going to crush Canada this year. I said I wasn’t sure about that. I was hoping to do well this weekend. She said if it doesn’t it is probably doing exactly what its supposed to be doing. True you are only going to get stronger by working harder! 🙂 I needed that little bit of perspective at 7 this morning!!

  3. Running less than 5 miles seems trivial to me, almost not even worth getting myself sweaty for. All in perspective 🙂 And I “hobby jog” with my son and we ride our bikes around the hood. It’s a lot of fun. Sometimes though, I have to tell my youngest to speed up because I literally can’t go any slower. Perspective.

    1. I completely understand!! Sometimes I think why even bother going out for a one hour bike ride or a run under an hour…perspective 😉

  4. That’s great you can still bike! When you’re injured and not able to train according to your plan it can be so frustrating; it’s awesome you have this outlook!
    I always remind myself of that, too. I am healthy enough to enjoy activity some people couldn’t even imagine doing. So if a little injury halts it for a while, it’s ok.

  5. I hope your injury subsides and that you are back running in no time. I’m glad it doesn’t affect the other sports. I completely know what you mean about perspective. Last weekend when I finished my 13 mile run, I walked in the door and made a comment to my husband, “the was effortless. It’s amazing how I have reached this point in my fitness.” One thing I think is important to keep in mind is that we are all unique in our perspective. What might be easy for me might be difficult for someone else. I am very mindful of these differences when talking and working out with friends who aren’t at my level, because it can be intimidating at times. I think encouragement and support for others’ perspectives is always important too. 🙂

    1. I definitely agree with you Kristen!! I am more aware of encouraging others when I am training them for their first 5K…especially when I show up to run and am already sweaty after having ran for 90 minutes since I needed a longer distance that day. It is all a matter of perspective and we were all beginners at one point. 😉

  6. Not being able to run must be so frustrating, but you have a very healthy attitude about it.

    My workouts are all over the place because of all my kids and it gets to me sometimes, but I can’t give up just because it’s tough to find the time or energy 🙂

    1. Thanks Amy!! I’m sorry you are struggling to find time and energy for you. I usually have a similar problem this time of year since it is the end of the school year and there are so many extra demands placed on the teachers at the end of the school year. I hope you find a happy balance soon!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

