A Lesson in Patience

While I have completed every distance from 5K to marathon and from sprint triathlon to IRONMAN, I still have room for growth…I lack patience.  Especially when I can’t train/race because of an injury. Yes…I did it again…I am injured. Thankfully this is a minor injury and it is the offseason, so I have time to properly heal up strong before Ironman Wisconsin training officially starts.

As an 8th grade science teacher, I extinguish my stores of patience during the school days.  As a result, when it comes time for my endurance sport, I am not as patient as I could/should be.  Endurance sport is my stress relief.  When I can’t train and race, I get more anxious and stressed.

I have been fighting a minor knee injury (Pes Anserine Bursitis), which was most likely caused by my exceptionally tight left hamstring. Like every time I am fighting an injury, this too has been a lesson in patience.  Healing from injuries generally takes time…I don’t like how much time healing takes.  When I am injured, I want to have immediate results…heal me now and get me back out the door.

Normally I would be totally happy being told that I have to ride my bicycle or swim and strength train, but because I can’t run pain free, that seems to be all I want to do. UGH! Thankfully Dr. Chris is treating on my leg with ART (Active Release Therapy) and trying to get me back to full speed.

This rehab is the best there is!
This rehab is the best there is!

So what does one do when she is forced to swim and ride her bicycle? Work on getting stronger, find #bikelove, find #swimlove and proper recovery 🙂

IMG_5332
Enjoying the outdoor riding before the snow starts to fly
Functional strength training
Functional strength training
Basil was my coach and cheer squad as I was inspired by all of the athletes racing IMKona
Basil was my coach and cheer squad as I was inspired by all of the athletes racing IMKona
#swimlove with lots of #heartandcourage these days
#swimlove with lots of #heartandcourage these days
Date night with the Iron Hippie as we work on our strength training
Date night with the Iron Hippie as we work on our strength training using TRX
Lots of #bikelove these days
Lots of #bikelove these days
Finding some motivation with my #IMWI finisher medal and race bib on the wall next to me as I ride
Finding some motivation with my #IMWI2011 finisher medal and race bib on the wall next to me as I ride in my Coeur Sports racing kit
Soaking up some vitamin D in the backyard
Soaking up some vitamin D in the backyard
Basil likes to help me foam roller
Basil likes to help me foam roller
Lots of #heartandcourage as I heal up
Lots of #heartandcourage as I heal up
Not exactly the time trial test I was hoping for, but it gives me something to work toward during this cycling block.
Not exactly the time trial test I was hoping for, but it gives me something to work toward during this cycling block.
I'm being coached by my favorite four-legged fur baby.
I’m being coached by my favorite four-legged fur baby.
It was a cool day to ride outside, but I still managed to work up a sweat!
It was a cool day to ride outside, but I still managed to work up a sweat!
Finding some motivation from my Coeur Sports Kona tri shorts and my Ironman Boulder finisher's shirt!
Finding some motivation from my Coeur Sports Kona tri shorts and my Ironman Boulder finisher’s shirt!
#bikelove
#bikelove
Nothing better than spending time with this guy on two wheels outdoors!
Nothing better than spending time with this guy on two wheels outdoors!

Since I am not allowed to run for a while, I’ve decided to do some block training to get me through the offseason. This is not something I’ve done before, but I am actually looking forward to it. For the next 4 weeks, I’ll have a bike focus. I won’t skimp on the strength training, and I’ll have a swim or two, but the main focus will be on cycling. I’m excited to see my FTP results at the end of this 4 week bike focus 🙂

How do you speed up your recovery when injured? Have you ever done a block-focused training? If so, how did it go?

15 thoughts on “A Lesson in Patience

  1. Hate reading about the injury but you are doing the right thing! I have been dealing with a recurring thing in my leg, but with my half marathon training currently underway, just trying to be smart and listen to my body. Can you share some more about your ART (or have you and I can search for it) and some more details?

    1. ART is active release therapy. Not what an old school chiropractor would do at all. It often hurts while he is working on it, but feels so much better afterwards. I don’t know how to explain it other than like a massage, but you aren’t laying still. He moves and manipulates my leg while getting the muscles to release. Sometimes he does dry needling, which REALLY hurts at the time. I hope you heal up soon!!

    1. It is a bit frustrating, but thankfully I can still bike!! Even after Ironman, I don’t want to put my bike away…I 💜 her 😉 It won’t be long and you can put your bike away!! Enjoy the taper…it goes by too fast!

  2. Yes, please embrace patience! If I had exercised that years ago, I would not be in this chronic mess now. I have never heard of block training, but I think it sounds like a great idea. I’ll be interested to read your progress over the next month.

  3. OH man!!! Injuries at not fun but you are definitely making the best of it!! You will be able to start your IMWI injury free (fingers-crossed) and will have some patience built up too!! 🙂 I have never done the “block-training” before. Can’t wait to see how you like it!! So are you riding every day or 5x/week? or how are you structuring it?!!

    1. I will be ready to run when I’m allowed. Hopefully soon! We have 7 rides a week where 1-2 days a week have a morning and evening ride. It will last for 4 weeks. I’m excited to see the results. Thankfully I can ride my heart out with this injury 😉

  4. Ugh so sorry, I truly hope you get better soon. I am with you – I can’t run right now but I am at least loving the swimming & lots of biking/trainer. I’m supposed to go to PT soon though. In the meantime keep posting all the bike rides to inspire me 🙂

  5. Being injured is, as crazy as it sounds, one of the many times that I appreciate being a triathlete because there is always SOMETHING that I *can* do for training. It’s probably cold comfort, but you have a great attitude and hopefully you’ll recover soon.

Leave a Reply

