the best of 2023

I love looking back and thinking about all of the amazing things that I’ve accomplished and all of the challenges I’ve overcome! I’ve reflected for the last 10 years and now it’s time to reflect on 2023! You can look back at my previous posts if you’d like: the best of 2013, the best of 2014, the best of 2015, the best of 2016, the best of 2017, the best of 2018, the best of 2019, the best of 2020, the best of 2021, and the best of 2022. 2023 was full of a lot of darkness, but I am not going to focus on that. Instead, I am going to reminisce my favs from 2023.

Best adventure?

In September I visited family + friends and got to experience Lake Tahoe for the first time. What an absolutely amazing place! It is a place I will definitely go back to and one that now holds a special place in my heart!

feeling small next to the vastness of Lake Tahoe

Best swim?

OMG…did I mention I got to spend Labor Day weekend with my sister and her family in Lake Tahoe?!?! As a result, I got to swim in Lake Tahoe (more than once) and it was seriously the most amazing swim(s) EVER! The water was so crystal clear (you could see FOREVER) and was so refreshing (hint…cold). If we had the time, I would have swam here for hours at a time without getting bored!

Look at how crystal clear this water is!

Best bike?

Biking from Mom and Dad’s in Okoboji up into Minnesota with my fav. The roads up in Minnesota are so peaceful with little traffic and smooth surfaces. It is definitely one of my most favorite routes!

riding from Iowa into Minnesota

Best run?

Getting to run with Isabella for her first ever 1/2 marathon! There were highs and there were lows, but the grit and determination she displayed was so inspirational! We are all already signed up for next year!

We did it!! Isabella’s first 1/2 marathon!! SO PROUD OF HER!!

Best finish line?

I decided spur of the moment (literally 3 days before race day) to race the Okoboji Triathlon. I love racing at home-home, but getting to cross the finish line with family and friends surrounding you is the BEST! Oh…and then finding out you won your age group and were in the top 5 overall female finishers was icing on the cake!

Friends make the world a better place!

Best race-cation?

Sadly we didn’t travel far this year for races, but we did take a week off work and spent it at home-home with Mom and Dad to relax, swim, bike, play on the water, and enjoy life.

swimming with our baby girl

Best moment out of my comfort zone?

This was the first time ever racing two 70.3 races one week apart. It definitely pushed me out of my comfort zone and challenged me in new and different ways than ever before! I raced Ironman 70.3 Des Moines on Sunday, June 11 and then followed it up with Milkman 70.3 on Sunday, June 18. You can read more about the double challenge here.

Making my way home with the Capitol building in the background!

Best enCOEURaging moment?

The Ames Triathlon was so fun!! It is always great to see people achieve their goals and do things they once thought were impossible. The absolute best part of my day was creating an opportunity for first time athletes to complete their first triathlon ever. If you want to experience the Ames Triathlon for yourself, come to Ames in June 2024! You won’t be disappointed!

Race directors having fun at the Ames Triathlon!

Best new gear?

Coeur Sports recently started producing the Merino Wool Long Sleeved Run Top which has become a clear fav for fall/winter/spring running. This shirt is super soft, light weight, warm, and has amazing moisture wicking capabilities. If you live in a cooler climate, this is a MUST HAVE!

loving the fall weather running 💙

Best help with perimenopause?

Acupuncture…this year has been rough with the symptoms of perimenopause, but I was able to finally get some relief with acupuncture. I have since been sleeping better, experiencing fewer hot flashes, and overall feeling more and more like “myself.”

getting acupuncture to try to help my foot…thankfully it is helping perimenopause symptoms 🥰

If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be?

challenging, dark, ebb, lost…2023 was a rough year, but even in the darkest of times, there were times of light that shone through and that is something to be grateful for.

Tell me about your 2023 year!! What are your “bests” from 2023?!

2 thoughts on “the best of 2023

  1. Lake Tahoe looks amazing. Someday I’d love to swim in pretty water like that. I’m sorry that you had a rough year-2023 was the worst I’ve ever had. Health issues, relationship issues, and just plain loneliness. My bests were seeing my oldest son absolutely bloom in university and Dave and I deciding to fight for our relationship. Hopefully turning the calendar page will mark a fresh and shiny new start! Happy New Year Kecia 🙂

    1. Lake Tahoe was absolutely stunning! I’m sorry that you had the worst year ever, but that there were still some good nuggets sprinkled in. Cheers to making 2024 the best year yet!

Leave a comment